Saturday, April 13, 2013

Chronicles of Narnia: The Silver Chair

Title:  The Silver Chair
Author:  C. S. Lewis
Series:  Chronicles of Narnia
Approximate reading level:  9th grade

The story begins at Eustace's school, where he finds a schoolmate named Jill crying because of the bullying of other schoolmates. He begins telling her about Narnia, when they hear the bullies returning. They run towards a door in the wall around the school, hoping to find it unlocked so they can escape the bullies. Instead, they find their way into Narnia, where they meet Aslan, talking owls, Marshwiggles, giants, and more. Aslan sends them on a quest to rescue Prince Rilian, giving them four signs to guide them along their way. They explore more new areas of Narnia and meet more Narnians that previous explorers from other books never knew about. The success of the quest depends on Jill's remembering the signs given by Aslan at the beginning of the quest, which she does as long as she follows his instructions.

A magical enchantment and the threat of the main characters being eaten by giants may be disturbing. The importance of following instructions is seen when Jill forgets Aslan's signs because she does not follow his instructions to remember them. An evil witch also turns into a snake—the same snake which killed the queen earlier in the story. This is another great story in the Narnia series containing examples of bravery and forgiveness. Another great read for older children and adults and a great listen for younger children.
****4 stars

No comments:

Post a Comment